News

Changes for online banking

Teoago6usrekx7n5gb9w+onlinebankingchangesjanuary2015

Our online banking has a new look to match the website launched last fall. This upgrade is part of our ongoing effort to deliver a great online experience for members.

When you visit the new site, you’ll receive a one-time passcode. Federal regulators are requiring this layer of security to authenticate your identity – a change we support.

Mobile banking also will get a new look this year. Watch the website for more information.

In meantime, here are answers to questions you might have:

Will my online banking login change?
You can still log in as normal with your username and password. You’ll receive a one-time passcode each time you log in from a desk or laptop computer or tablet. To bypass the need for a passcode on return visits, you can ask the system to remember your computer. Remember this should only be done on your personal computer and not on public devices.

What’s a one-time passcode?
A one-time passcode is a code generated by the system. You’ll indicate in a drop-down menu if you want it sent by email, voicemail or text message. One-time passcodes are valid for 10 minutes.

When retrieving the passcode, simply minimize your online window and reopen. There’s no need to close out of online banking.

If the contact information on your profile page is incorrect, you’ll need to update it by calling us at 803-367-4100.

When will I receive a one-time passcode?
Oe-time passcodes will be generated each time you:

  • Update your profile information.
  • Transfer money to another member
  • Set-up a new external transfer account or transfer more than $1,000 to an external account.

How will I know I’m on the right website?
Our web address has not changed, but if you’re not sure you’re on the right site, you can check:

  • ‘S’ for secure – make sure the web address begins with https, it should always be https://www.familytrust.org. The ‘s’ after http stands for secure.
  • The padlock icon – a closed padlock icon should appear on your toolbar. This indicates you’re on a secure webpage.

If the new site looks like the old site, you may want to clear your browser history. Please refer to your particular browser for instructions. You may also need to refresh the page (press Ctrl + F5).

Learn more about online safety.