40 Educators Awarded Grants


Cooking, finances, and the immigration experience are just a few of the lessons that will come alive for students in York and Chester counties thanks to grants from Family Trust for creative classroom lessons.

Family Trust awarded nearly $10,000 in grants to 40 educators Tuesday at a banquet at its Family Trust Center in downtown Rock Hill. Awarded were twenty-five $250 individual grants and seven $500 collaborative grants.

Kathy Blackwelder plans to use $250 to teach teens in special education class how to cook at the kitchen that supports York Comprehensive High School’s culinary program. The lesson will help students learn how to buy food, measure ingredients and plan cooking times and temperatures.
“This helps me try different things,” said Blackwelder, who has won several Family Trust grants. “Otherwise, I wouldn’t be able to use the kitchen as much as I would like.”

Mandy Wolff plans to use her grant money to fund a field trip for juniors and seniors The Applied Technology Center in Rock Hill to the Knowledge Park area in Rock Hill. She took students on a similar trip last fall and they enjoyed it so much she wanted a second class to tour the businesses.
“They loved it,” she said. “They didn’t know Rock Hill had so much going on.”

Family Trust has awarded more than $100,000 to over 350 educators since the grant program began 15 years ago.

“If we support teachers in the classroom, they’ll get the job done,” said Vernon Prosser, superintendent of the York School District. “That’s what Family Trust does. They give back to the community.”

Grant winners are:

Chester School District:
Stephanie D. Jacobs

Clover School District:
Ashley Brown
Michelle Hubbard
Stacey Rothaupt
Kay Wessinger

Collaborative Grants:
Kay Wessinger, Joni Levesque, Patricia Smith

Fort Mill School District:
Bobbi Jean Keesling
Kathleen Mills

Collaborative Grants:
Kim Nees & Shaniqua Corley
Amy Wilson & Jessica Bryant
Amanda Shamblin

Rock Hill School District:
Marsha Bell
Cortney Davis
Shannon Gonzalez
Elizabeth McIntyre
Janice McKiver
Martha Smith
Jeremy Sowells
Cathy Tomlin
Mandy R.Wolff

Collaborative Grants:
David Consalvi, Aaron Thrasher

York School District:
Kathy Blackwelder
Lyndsey Goolsby
Emily Harper
Katie Kingsmore
Carrie Lawton
Felicia C. Mackins
Lesley Reel
Anne Royal Witte
Tracy Warren, Joey Morre, Andrew Dean

Collaborative Grants:
Teresa Mann & DeEtte Mann

Westminister Catawba Christian School:
Lauren Johns & Alice Browder